Lunch at Snow Palace

Snow Palace is one of my preferred restaurants for Chinese food.  Their food is generally pretty good, prices are decent and service is really good.  I wouldn’t say they are the best Chinese food in Calgary (though honestly, I don’t know if such a place exist) but due to all the factors I’ve mentioned above, my family and I frequent here quite a bit.  My family and I usually come here for dinner; the odd times for lunch and today was just one of those times.

Here’s what we ordered today:

Imperial Chicken (1/2) – $13.95

It seems to me that a lot of Chinese restaurants can never nail this dish right.  The marinade is definitely the most important part, and I found that Snow Palace has the best version out of all the Chinese restaurants I’ve had this dish.  The chicken has the right amount of meat on it, and the flavor really seeps through the skin onto the meat.  You don’t even need the green onion and ginger dipping sauce on the side, whereas I find almost everywhere else I need it for a flavor boost.

Shrimp and Egg Sauce over pan-fried flat rice noodles (hor fun) – $9.95

This is my favorite dish to order when it comes to fried rice/noodles.  My mom commented that here shrimp is used in place of prawns, to which I said, they’ll give you prawns for a few dollars more, I’m sure.  To me, the shrimp isn’t the star of this dish – it’s that egg “sauce” which I have no idea how to make.  The “sauce” here could’ve used a bit more salt, but overall it tasted fine.  The flat rice noodles (hor fun) was pan fried nicely.

Potstickers (10 pcs) – $7.50

My brother has a thing for potstickers, gyozas and the like, so he orders it every chance he gets.  These were pan fried nicely with a thick enough skin and a good amount of filling.  I also find them in need of a teeny bit of salt but the vinegar dipping sauce did the trick.

Pan fried rice roll w/chives and dried shrimp with dipping sauce – $4.95

These rice rolls were pan-fried nicely with enough “charring” on them to make them crispy.  Accompanied by a duo of sesame and seafood (hoi sin) dipping sauce.

Steamed pork soup dumplings -$4.95

This was the most disappointing item of all.  I remember them to be pretty mediocre the last time I tried them but these ones were not even average.  There was no soup inside them to speak of and you have to dip them in vinegar as they didn’t taste that great on their own.  I’m pretty sure I will not order this again.

Dim sum (shrimp dumpling, pork dumpling etc.) as well as a huge selection of lunch items are offered at lunch.  Check out their white boards for specials that are not in the menu, but note that they are written in Chinese.  I’m sure the servers will explain to you what they are if you ask!

Here are more food pictures of this restaurant from previous visits:

Lunch Service

Jia Jiang Noodle

Taro Spring Rolls

Singapore Style Fried Vermicelli

Dinner Service

Deep Fried Soft Shell Crab in Egg Yolk Sauce

Ginger Beef

Jer Jer Chicken Pot

Marinated Shredded Chicken with Jellyfish

Sweet and Sour Fish with Milk Nuggets

Crabmeat and Fish Maw soup

Deep Fried Prawns in Egg Yolk Sauce

Chinese New Year Appetizer Platter

Pork Stomach and Tofu Soup

Snow Palace on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Lunch at Snow Palace

Leave a Reply

