Late lunch at Ginger Beef Bistro House

Dim Sum.  Something I haven’t had for a while.  It was 1:30pm on a Saturday afternoon and since we had to go to Costco right after, we didn’t want to travel far.  I wasn’t sure if it would be packed at Ginger Beef but thought we should try our luck anyway.  Imagine my surprise when there was a few free tables and we got seated right away! As I’ve mentioned in my previous reviews, I don’t quite like the dinner here but don’t mind the dim sum.  I noticed they have raised their prices slightly but portion sizes was not compromised at all.  Unfortunately I forgot to grab the receipt so I may be off with the prices… I’m basing them from my memory.  The prices on their website has not been updated.

Here’s what we ordered today:

Baked Custard Buns – $4.50

These have the sweet yellow custard filling inside, and also topped with the custard coating.  They were soft, warm and sweet.

Pan Fried Rice Rolls in Soy Sauce – $3.75

This is my favorite rice roll dish here! These were quickly pan fried with bean sprouts and flavored with soy sauce.  Nice and simple.

Deep Fried Shrimp Balls – $5.25

Ack.  I thought my BlackBerry took better pictures than my iPhone but I guess not.  These shrimp balls were coated with fried noodles and came with a sweet and sour sauce for dipping.  Our family loves the one on a crab claw where it’s normally served during dinner and these ones are pretty much the same thing.

Siu Mai – $5.00

I love how meaty these were and the entire piece was jam packed with pork and shrimp.

Shredded Pork and Century Egg congee – $5.75

I didn’t try this, but everyone said it was good.

Beef Short Ribs in Black Pepper Sauce – $5.25

Fatty short ribs in a black pepper sauce that has a bit of kick to it.  There’s not that many pieces so there wasn’t enough!

Steamed Chicken with Fish Maw – $5.25

This is one of my favorite dim sum dishes here.

Steamed Assorted Meat Dumpling (fun gor) – $4.50

These are another variation of Chiu Chow fun gor and the main ingredient seems to be shrimp, rather than peanuts/chestnuts/ground pork like you would find in an actual Chiu Chow fun gor.  I didn’t really like this – I would rather eat ha gao (shrimp dumpling).

Service has improved and I have to say it’s better than other Chinese restaurants.  Food comes out quite fast too.

Ginger Beef Bistro House on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Late lunch at Ginger Beef Bistro House

    • It won’t be up to Vancouver standards but to me, this Ginger Beef does have pretty decent dim sum that I find myself returning to. I wish you and L were moving closer to me – we can explore more restaurants together!

  1. I really like the dim sum here – sure, it’s a tad costly… and it’s always packed, but the food is really good! I love being able to see the dim sum being made at the big glass window! :) Lots of favourite dishes for dinner and dim sum from this location for me!

    • I agree that they have very good dim sum – one of the better ones in the City. I swear they stole the glass window concept from another restaurant – Ding Tai Fung! I find service is a hit and miss – depends which server you get. I already have an “unfavorite” one there.

Leave a Reply

