Lunch at Chop Steakhouse & Bar

It’s no secret that I eat out a lot – especially with my family.  My brother from the boonies decided to take us out for a nice Christmas lunch and he suggested Chop because he had good experience there.  I’m going to say this – he and I have very different preferences for restaurants – half of the time we don’t like the restaurants that each other like.  Along with the low ratings on Urbanspoon… well.  You know what, he’s being nice – I’ll eat with an open mind and form my own set of opinions.  We made lunch reservations on Christmas Eve and I didn’t think it was going to be busy – it wasn’t.  The good thing about eating here is Chop has their own parking spots, so we don’t have to fight for spots at Chinook.  I don’t know about you, but I steer clear from the mall about five days before Christmas… and then Boxing Day? I always go first thing in the morning just to beat the crowd!

Here’s what we ordered today:

Chop - Fresh Ahi Tuna Pillars

Fresh Ahi Tuna Pillars – $11.95

Sushi grade ahi tuna wrapped in sesame noodles and ginger butter phyllo pastry, finished with citrus salsa and wasabi aioli

I love ahi tuna and will always try any ahi tuna appetizers when I’m dining at a new restaurant.  I did not like this nor do I understand the concept of serving it this way.  No one at the table liked this and it was very overpriced for the amount of food present.

Chop - Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio

Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio – $13.75

Shaved Grana Padano, red onions, capers, arugula, extra virgin olive oil and crostini

Someone at the table said, I didn’t even know you can slice beef this thin.  They were so thin and I’m pretty sure this was prepared way ahead of time b/c the slices stuck to the plate very well – we had to scrape the meat off so they were more like clumps when we ate them.  I have to say this tasted more like prosciutto than beef carpaccio b/c it was sliced so thinly I couldn’t really taste any distinct beef flavors except it was a bit dry and salty.

Chop - Kid's Cold Appetizer Plate

Kid’s Cold Appetizer Plate

Included as part of the Kid’s Dinner – also includes a drink of choice and dessert.  My toddler really liked the honey yogurt dip – so much that he kept dipping his food into the dip and licking it instead of actually eating it.  I appreciate that they included something healthy like this.

Chop - Kid's Salmon Dinner

Kid’s Salmon Dinner – $9.95

The salmon was quite overcooked – I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say that they probably didn’t want my toddler to risk getting salmonella.  However, b/c it was quite dry he left most of it untouched.  I had it packed to go and he still didn’t really want to eat it the next day.  The vegetables were done to the right crispness.  For the side you get a choice of fries or mash potato.  Had I realize that Chop makes their mash potatoes with the skin on… I would not have ordered it b/c my toddler didn’t like the skin at all.

Chop - Creamy Seafood Chowder

Creamy Seafood Chowder – $6.95 (a la carte)

Hubby and my two brothers ordered this as part of their Chop Experience and of course I had to taste some.  All I could taste in the chowder was salmon.  Lots of salmon.  I didn’t find the soup creamy at all.  I really liked the bun that accompanied it though – it was warm and very soft… tasted so good with the butter!

Chop - Prime Rib (L)

Large Prime Rib – $33.95 (Chop Experience Price)

Chop Experience allows you to order a starter salad or soup, plus an extra side for less than if ordered separately.  Both of my brothers seem to have enjoyed it – I stole a chunk off one of their plates and thought it was nicely done.  They both ordered a baked potato and vegetables as their side – the baked potatoes didn’t look very stuffed.

Chop - New York Steak with Whiskey Butter

New York Steak with Whiskey Butter – $36.95 (Chop Experience Price)

This was hubby’s order and he also did the Chop Experience, with fries and vegetables as his two sides.  I thought the steak was decent and hubby said it wasn’t as tender as he’d like.  I do like the fries though!

Chop - Wild Mushroom Stuffed Sirloin

Wild Mushroom Stuffed Sirloin – $24.95

I did not like this at all.  The sirloin was dry and tough and the mushroom mixture was salty and mushy.  The red wine reduction that they topped this with was also very salty.  This is easily one of the worst steaks I’ve eaten.

Chop - Buttermilk Roast Chicken with Asparagus Tarragon Ragout

Buttermilk Roast Chicken with Asparagus Tarragon Ragout – $19.95

This was my mom’s order and she said it was decent.  There was a ton of vegetables and wild rice and a small piece of chicken.  My brother tried it and said it was dry.

Chop - Kid's Gelato

Kid’s Gelato

Included with my toddler’s salmon dinner.  He ate this in no time.

Chop - Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Fudge Butter Cream

Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Fudge Butter Cream – $6.95

This was a very chocolatey cake that wasn’t too heavy.  My brother said he really liked it.

Chop - Raspberry Crème Brulée

Raspberry Crème Brulée – $7.95

This was hubby’s order and it was a pretty standard creme brulee.  There was a good amount of raspberry flavors.

Chop - Warm Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Gelato

Warm Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Gelato – $7.95

I have always liked warm cakey desserts served with ice cream… this falls under that description.  The carrot cake looks chocolatey but it wasn’t, and the cream cheese gelato wasn’t very strong in terms of flavor.  They went well together but the portion was painfully small.

I absolutely agree with some of the Urbanspoon reviews that there are definitely much better steakhouses, and also for a better price.  Service was mostly good but I just didn’t really like the food that much this day.

Chop Steakhouse & Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

