Dinner at Open Range Steak Chops

It was my turn to take my family out for a nice dinner, and since we are a family of carnivores, I decided Open Range would be the best place b/c they have… a lot of meat! And not just your usual beef, chicken, pork etc… but also items like veal, boar etc.! I’ve been here before and really enjoyed dining here – plus it’s a very cozy atmosphere that my brother describes as homey.  Open Range also has daily features which are not on the regular menu and tonight (Dec 27, 2012) was a Porterhouse for two.  Apparently… each cow can only give four Porterhouse steaks so it’s quite rare and can be pricey.  Hubby said he has never tried it before and we haven’t really seen it anywhere so we decided to get that, plus a few items to share.

Here’s what we ordered tonight:

OR - Starter Bread

Complimentary Bread

There’s a station at the front where it is stacked with loads of bread and the servers freshly cut it and bring it to your table after you’ve settled down.  These had a good crust and was soft inside.

OR - Local Game Platter

Platter of Local Game Meats with House Made Relish and Sesame Lavash – $23.00

An assortment of cured meats.  I cannot remember what any of the items were but I liked everything I sampled from this plate.

OR - Calamari

Crispy Calamari with Citrus Pistou and Lemon Caper Aioli – $13.00

These were quite standard but tasty.  My brother L loves fried stuff and he indulged these in no time.

OR - Srimp and Crab Cakes

Feature: Shrimp and Crab Cakes with Truffle Aioli – $13.00

Shrimp AND crab cake? Truffle Aioli? SOLD. These had a good bite to them without much of a filler in between and the truffle aioli was just devine.  It’s a shame that it’s not on the regular menu.  Actually… I want the aioli.  I want to dip my fries in them!

OR - Yam Fries

Yam Fries with Smoked Paprika Mayo – $7.00

These fries were perfectly crispy and the paprika mayo had a good smokiness taste to them without being overpowering.

OR - Duck Breast

Noble Farms Duck Breast with Riesling Braised Apples and Hard Cider Glaze – $32.00

This was my mom’s order.  She always order chicken (her safe choice) so I decided it was time she tried something else.  I had to try a piece of course and these were some super tender pieces of duck in a perfectly sweet glaze.  It was suggested that these should be cooked to a medium rare.

OR - Rack of Lamb

Alberta Lamb Rack with House Made Central Mole and Fresh Mint Oil – $37

This was my brother’s order.  I didn’t try this but he really enjoyed them.

OR - Bison Burger

Grilled Bison Burger with Double Smoked Bacon, Smoked Paprika Mayo and Jalapeno Jack – $15

This was my other brother’s order.  He has an infatuation with burgers and Caesar Salad and here’s what he got here.  The burger was a good size and he enjoyed every single bite of it.

OR - Mac and Cheese

Jalapeno Jack Mac & Cheese – $9.00

My brother also got this b/c he loves mac n cheese.  I tried a little bit and thought it could be more creamy and cheesy.  The jalapeno flavor is not too dominant here.

OR - Sharing Porterhouse

Feature: Porterhouse for Two – $62.00

with Chimichurri sauce

Hubby and I shared this beauty.  I can’t remember how many ounces were here but there was a bone too.  I think we asked for this to be cooked to medium? Anyways, this was a very tender piece of meat without the fattiness of say, a ribeye.  It had a very robust flavor (given the cut) and the Chimichurri sauce gave it that extra little something without taking away any flavors from the steak.  This was a good piece of meat.

Feature: Sides to Porterhouse for Two – $9.00

You have the option of ordering the two chosen sides with your Porterhouse.

OR - Asparagus

Grilled Asparagus

Cooked to a perfect crisp.

OR - Scalloped Potatoes

Scalloped Potatoes

Creamy slices of potatoes baked with a good amount of cheese.

OR - Maple Bourbon Pecan Pie

Maple Bourbon Pie with House Made Praline Ice Cream – $9.00

This was my brother’s dessert.  I only tried a bit of the ice cream and it was amazing.  The Praline flavors came out really well.  I can easily eat a whole bowl of it.

OR - Citrus Creme Brulee

Citrus Creme Brulee with Lemon Pumpkin Seed Biscotti – $9.00

Hubby’s go-to dessert.  I think he only orders creme brulee as a dessert.  This was standard but good, according to him.  I don’t remember trying it.  It had a good, thick candied crust.

OR - FF Goat Cheesecake

Free Form White Chocolate Goat Cheesecake with Buckwheat Honey Gingersnaps and Warm Chocolate Lavender Sauce – $9.00

The cheesecake itself had good, strong goat cheese flavors, but I found the lavender really strong in the chocolate sauce.  I don’t eat gingersnaps and gave it to my brother, which he said was good.

We had a fabulous meal here tonight accompanied by good and attentive service.  Prices are pretty decent and the food is pretty good.  As mentioned the restaurant itself is pretty homey and cozy so you’d feel very comfortable eating there – like at home.

Open Range - Steak Chops on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dinner at Open Range Steak Chops

Leave a Reply

