Dinner at Avec Bistro

I have been wanting to try this place out for quite some time! I’ve made (and cancelled) reservations several times as the timing just never worked out b/c hubby’s work schedule changes so much.  And I don’t know about you, but I have to be in the mood for certain cuisines as well.   Anyways, I’ve always enjoyed French cuisine and have heard great things about Avec Bistro, so I was really looking forward to tonight’s meal.

AB - Interior

This is the interior of the restaurant.  Our server called this… the calm before the storm.  We arrived at 5:30pm and the restaurant filled up in no time.

Here’s what we ordered tonight:

AB - Goat cheese croquettes

Goat Cheese Croquettes – $4

Deep fried, bite-sized gooey goodness of creamy goat cheese.  These were served piping hot and was definitely a delightful treat for goat cheese lovers! I wouldn’t really called these croquettes… more like deep fried goat cheese sticks, that’s all!

AB - Moules, bacon, tomato, white wine

Moules, bacon, tomato, white wine – $16

This dish is the reason why I must return to Avec Bistro.  The mussels were sweet, plump and juicy, but it was the broth that won me over. It was sweet, with a hint of tomato and full of white wine flavor.  I actually drank all the broth after hubby finished the mussels!

AB - Beef tartare, cornichon, dijon, egg yolk, crispy shallots, toasts

Beef tartare, cornichon, dijon, egg yolk, crispy shallots, toasts – $14

The yellow sauce is egg yolk that was cooked sous vide.  The beef was cut to small pieces but still had a good bite to them, and the dijon was the prominent flavor but very welcoming.  The toasts, or crostinis, appear to be housemade and they were nicely crisped to be eaten with the tartare.

AB - Duck confit, white bean & spinach, stewed sour cherries

Duck confit, white bean & spinach, stewed sour cherries – $25

I suggested this for hubby as he couldn’t decide at all.  He wanted steak, but had it the day before, and if he orders the bouillabaisse then why is he ordering the mussels… etc etc.  And they say us women are indecisive? :p Anyways, he really enjoyed the duck.  He said the meat was tender and melt in your mouth, and the white bean & spinach mixture was cooked perfectly.  I didn’t try his dish at all so I can only rely on what he told me.

AB - Steak frites

Steak frites, béarnaise sauce (12 oz) – $25

I know I would’ve been totally fine with the 6oz portion, but I know that single duck leg won’t be enough for hubby so I shared some of my steak with him.  The steak was cooked a bit past than what I requested (medium vs. rare) and it was very wet.  I don’t know how it was cooked but there was quite a bit of braising liquid/meat juice or something and it was just unexpected.  I was also a bit shocked at the amount of bearnaise sauce that topped the steak but it was quite light and foamy, so it didn’t make the steak an more heavy than it already is.  The good thing is that the steak was quite tender, so it was enjoyable overall, but it won’t be a dish I would order again here.  The fries were light and crispy and was awesome with the avec aioli.

AB - Avec aioli, ketchup

Avec aioli, ketchup

The aioli was a bit citrusy and was great with the fries.  As I love aioli, I have not come across one that I haven’t liked!

AB - Chocolate terrine, salted caramel sauce, almond brittle

Chocolate terrine, salted caramel sauce, almond brittle – $8

Hubby and I were quite full after all that food but we wanted to share a dessert, so we picked this.  I’ve only ever eaten meat terrine so this dessert is all new to me, and it was a pleasant surprise.  The best way to describe this is a very dense, packed chocolate mousse! There’s something really inviting about salted caramel and the salted caramel sauce here provided a great contrast to the semi-sweet terrine.  It also served as a major component bringing all three ingredients together to be eaten as a whole.

I’m so glad we finally gave this place a try and had a pleasant experience.  Service was attentive and our server was very enthusiastic.  He was very knowledgeable with the entire menu and raved about every single dish.  I can’t wait to come back for the mussels and try the other things on their menu!!

Avec Bistro on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Dinner at Avec Bistro

Leave a Reply

