Duck Fest at TRIB Steakhouse

The Tribune Restaurant is one of those places I’ve been wanting to visit. Known for their steaks, and although I love steaks dearly, eating it at lunch is not the best idea.  And then after work I don’t particularly like to stick around downtown. Excuses excuses, right? So when I learned of the duck fest that Trib was hosting from May 13 to June 12, I knew it was time to give them a visit.  Since they had different items on the lunch and dinner menu that I wanted to try, I decided to go for two visits.

Visit #1

I made a very last minute reservation for this lunch b/c I was busy all week at work, but I had really wanted to try the duck burger.  For some reason ALL, and I mean everyone whom I normally hang out was unavailable one way or another.  Grrrr.  Then my coworker C, who came back to work after her vacation, showed up unexpectedly so she became my dining companion.  I mean regardless I was going to eat this burger even if I had to dine alone, but I like to converse while eating!

Trib - Duck Figurine

A duck figurine from Ducks Unlimited. Delicately hand-crafted with wood, you can bring this home with a suggested donation.

 

Trib - Duck Burger (1)

Trib - Duck Burger (2)

The Trib Duck Burger with choice of side – $23
Brome Lake Patty, Duck Bacon, Duck Cheese, Fried Egg, Truffle Mayonnaise

As soon as I read the description of the duck burger, I knew I had to eat it.  It had all the components in a burger that I would totally eat, and truffle mayo? Yum.  So this was a huge burger.  You can tell by the second pic how massive the patty was.  As I’ve never had a burger patty made with duck meat before, this was a really nice change and it was really tasty.  The meat itself is a bit lean, but I don’t mind at all.  The duck bacon was very nicely smoked and also didn’t taste as fatty as regular bacon.  The fried egg still had a gooey yolk so it was dripping allover the place as we ate our burgers but we didn’t mind! And the truffle mayo… hmmmm.  I wish there was a bit more of it but there was already a lot of flavors going on in this burger.  This was darn good.  I would so eat this again.

Trib - Side Salad

Side Salad with White Balsamic Vinaigrette

Since I know I will be indulging in the duck burger, choosing the salad as my side is the best choice.  Fresh spring mix in a slightly tangy vinaigrette.

Trib - Soup of the Day

Soup of the Day

My coworker C ordered this and I couldn’t remember what it was.  She said it was very tasty.

Trib - Duck Poutine

Duck Poutine – $21
Duck Confit, House Made Duck Gravy, Wild Mushrooms, Local Cheese Curds, Arugula Salad

I was quite sad when Trib took this off the Week 3 menu, but being the foodie that I am I decided to call the restaurant to see if they can still make it… and they said yes! Crispy, piping hot fries topped with an abundance of duck.  This is totally a gourmet poutine! The house made duck gravy had a bit of a sweetness to it but it paired very well with the duck and fries.  I am wondering why it’s missing the arugula salad.  Also, since I was so stuffed from that burger I only ate part of this and packed the rest for hubby, who thought it was decent too.

Service was pretty good and attentive.  It was quite busy so the food came out a bit slower than we’d like, but overall the experience was positive.  The food was definitely delicious and left us desiring for more.  Good thing I was going back the following evening.

Visit #2

This time it was with K, as we had planned this about a week ago.  Since she wanted to try the duck poutine as well, I made sure that it was available again.  We had intend to share one of their Angus steaks but I thought it might’ve been too heavy with the duck poutine.  Next time!

Trib - Duck Figurine 2

Another duck figurine

Trib - Organic Arugula & Spinach

Spinach & Arugula Salad – $12
Raspberry Balsamic Dressing, Cucumber, Melon, Roasted Almonds

With all the rich and decadent things we will be eating, it was natural for us to order a leafy green salad.  One thing I love about dining with K is that we are both very agreeable on ordering the same things b/c we both have strangely similar tastes (not just food too).  The greens are lightly tossed with the tangy dressing and topped with an assortment of garnishes.  This was a good refreshment to eat in between all of the heavy stuff.

Trib - Duck Poutine 2

Duck Poutine – $21
Duck Confit, House Made Duck Gravy, Wild Mushrooms, Local Cheese Curds, Arugula Salad

I was able to enjoy this a lot more this time as I wasn’t stuffed silly with a burger.  Still tasted as good as the previous day!

Trib - Duck Plate (2)

Duck Plate – $18
Smoked Brome Lake Duck Breast, Duck Liver and Calvados Parfait, Duck Rillette, Fig Jam, Sauternes Jelly, Toasted Brioche

This was the perfect sharing platter and a great way to start the meal.  My favorite was definitely the sliced duck breast – lean, smokey, yet that nice strip of fat was very welcoming.  I also really liked the Sauternes jelly – it went very well with the parfait.  The duck rillette was a bit mild in flavor and had to be eaten with the fig jam, but it was still very tasty.

Trib - Toasted Brioche

Toasted Brioche

Trib - Duck Plate (4)

Trib - Duck Plate (1)

Close-ups of the duck plate

Trib - Duck Waffles

Duck Waffles – $14
House Made Waffles, Foie Gras Ice Cream, Bourbon Maple Syrup

We were very anxious to try this.  K and I both love foie gras and had high expectations.  I have to say this foie gras ice cream was very different than the one I had at Brasserie – the flavor is not as strong, though I don’t know if it’s because it’s made with duck as opposed to goose? It also tastes like there’s something else mixed with it but we’re not certain on that – we need to eat more foie gras ice cream :) We also would’ve preferred the waffles to be warm, but they were well made.  I loved the maple syrup – I would’ve totally licked the plate clean if I was at home.

Trib - Sticky Toffee Pudding

Warm Chocolate & Walnut Sticky Toffee Pudding – $9
Whiskey Toffee Sauce & Vanilla Ice Cream

We decided to share another dessert just because we love our sweets.  Do you find that even when you’re stuffed, you always have room for dessert? And hey, I love warm, gooey desserts paired with ice cream! I really enjoyed the sweetness of the entire dessert as it wasn’t overwhelming.  The cake was nice and moist with little bits of walnut throughout – and I like how the toffee sauce was not sickeningly sweet.

Overall, another great meal.  I can’t believe it took me so long to try this place out.  Service this evening was great again and the whole entire atmosphere was quite relaxing.  I’m still planning to try their duck fest menu one more time before it ends…

Trib Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

