Breakfast at Holy Grill & Steakout Truck

My brother L and I have been planning to go for brunch for a few weeks now, and we finally decide to make it happen a couple of Saturdays ago.  I had a few places in mind, but as Holy Grill has been on my wishlist for quite some time now I decided it was time to give them a visit.  Another thing is they open at 10:00am, so technically I should be able to get there with my son right before then to avoid a lineup.  I haven’t been back to OEB for quite some time b/c the lineup is just ridiculous there even though I love the food, but waiting with a young one is just too much hassle! So little did I know that the format here is order at the counter, then pick your table.  We arrived at 10:10am and luckily got the last table for two.  Granted, the wait for a table isn’t very long because the diners are very considerate and leave as soon as they’re finished with their food.

Here’s what we ordered today:

HG - Wakey Wakey

Wakey Wakey – $11
Two eggs, spicy Italian sausage or bacon. Served with smash browns + toast

This was my brother’s order.  He chose the spicy Italian sausage as his meat.  Visually, this was a very appetizing looking dish.  Taste-wise, the brother approves! It’s not like this was an out-of-this-world dish, but it was the fact that everything was cooked very well! I sampled some of the smash browns and they were very crispy – it’s like eating deep fried clusters of potato.  Crispy on the outside, soft in the inside.  Eggs were simply scrambled and seasoned well.  The sausage tasted very lean with no traces of fillers – I wonder if those are made in-house? It definitely doesn’t taste like the commercial stuff.

HG - Bacon Avocado Crisp

Bacon Avocado Crisp – $7
Bacon, avocado, fried egg, cheddar, mayo, eggplant, spinach + Roma tomato on a toasted Kaiser

Another visually appetizing dish.  I ordered two of these – one for me and the other for my son.  Since I see so many pictures of this on Urbanspoon, I figured it was a must try.  I can’t believe how tasty this was! The combination of all these simple ingredients was perfect tasting! The kaiser bun was lightly toasted and piled on with a generous amount of ingredients.  Bite after bite of creamy goodness, with slightly crispy bites in between from the bacon.  Hmmmmmmmmmmmm! I don’t know if it’s a flavored mayo that they use but it was very tangy and brought everything together! I shared some of my son’s order with my brother since we ate some of his dish and he thought it was really tasty as well.

Food was delicious, prices are right, and the cooks/owners were very friendly.  I have to make it a point to visit more often.

SOT - Steak Bites

Steak Bites – $7

I was modestly full and was walking towards my car and then… I spotted the Steakout Truck.  Omg.  Yes, they are on my wishlist.  No, there is no lineup (given that it was at 11:30am).  Do I want to buy something from them? Yes, no, yes, no… steak at 11:30am? Seriously? YES.  It’s only protein anyway! Plus who knows when I’ll see them again so I better go now! And 6oz of steak… totally doable! I am so glad I gave in because the steak bites were fantastic.  Six thick chunks of juicy, tender, perfectly seasoned AAA top sirloin – served with their own secret creamy dip.  I was impressed that even though the steak was cut up, they were not overcooked or dry! I was so happy eating this because it was that good.  My brother had a couple of pieces and he really liked it too! Talk about hitting two birds with one stone :)

Staff was friendly here as well, and although I’ve only tasted the steak bites, I am liking it so far! I hope to see their truck parked around my work more often!

Holy Grill on Urbanspoon

Steakout Truck on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Breakfast at Holy Grill & Steakout Truck

Leave a Reply

