Lunch at Double Zero Pizza

To thank me for helping them out with their past few projects, a couple of my colleagues decided to take me out for lunch.  Since I have quite the reputation as a crazed foodie in my office, I was of course asked to pick a place that was reasonably priced and have vegetarian items on their menu.  I turned to my Urbanspoon wishlist and Double Zero popped out at me.  I’ve sampled the pizza from here one time when the restaurant was doing samples at Holt Renfrew and quite liked it, so I’ve been meaning to dine at the restaurant for a while.

Here’s what we ordered today:

00 Pizza - Mushroom

Mushroom Pizza – $17
cultivated mushroom duxelle, basil, fontina

This was one of the pizzas I sampled before and I really liked it last time, so I made sure to order it as my entree this time.  It did not disappoint.  Even though I love meat and I usually prefer an abundance of toppings on my pizzas, I just love how simple tasting this is – there was just enough ingredients yet it did not lack in taste.  The crust was perfect – thin, crispy and chewy.  We also tried it with a drizzle of lemon juice from the grilled lemon – what a great flavor boost and change!

00 Pizza - Chicken Confit

Confit Chicken Pizza – $18
fontina, mushrooms, smoked pancetta

My coworker C wasn’t quite sure what to get, so she decided on a pizza as well with something familiar – chicken! Same fabulous crust with a delicious blend of chicken, pancetta and mushrooms.  It was like my pizza except with meat.  C liked her order for sure!

00 Pizza - Spaghetti Alla Chitarra

Spaghetti Alla Chitarra – $16
arugula pesto, rapini, housemade ricotta, pine nuts

This was for my vegetarian coworker N.  Honestly, I don’t know how he does it.  He said he’s been a vegetarian for most of his life and the one time I attempted a vegetarian diet, I failed miserably.  Though I guess if you’ve never had meat in your life, then you wouldn’t miss it?  He said this dish was good for him.

00 Pizza - Panna Cotta

Vanilla Panna Cotta – $8
coffee caramel, house made biscotti

As panna cotta is one of my favorite desserts, I always make it a point to try it if it’s on the dessert menu.  Creamy, thick panna cotta, although I found that there was too much caramel sauce.

00 Pizza - Raspberry Lime Sorbetto

Raspberry Lime Sorbeto – $3/scoop
from Fiasco Gelato

This was C’s choice.  I had a taste and thought it was excellent – the raspberry flavors really came through while the lime was more subtle.

00 Pizza - Mango Sorbetto

Mango Sorbeto – $3/scoop
from Fiasco Gelato

This was N’s choice. I didn’t try his but he really enjoyed it.

Overall a really great lunch today.  Service was good and the food was delicious – both of my coworkers enjoyed it and that matters a lot to me! I thought prices were pretty decent especially for downtown.  The place was really packed for a Thursday so I’m glad they take reservations.  I must come back again and try their other pizzas and appetizers.

Double Zero Pizza on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Lunch at Double Zero Pizza

Leave a Reply

