Pre-Lunch at Oh My Dog BBQ; Lunch at Itoko Sushi

K and I went on another foodie trip a couple Saturdays ago.  We have been wanting to try Oh My Dog BBQ since the reviews have been very positive and favorable.  But no way were we doing to drive all the way down South for just one restaurant! So Itoko Sushi was also decided since it was on both of our wishlists.

Since we knew we were having two meals, we decided to only split one hot dog and share a side item.  I had my eyes set on the Monte Crisco (Strawberry Jam, Swiss Cheese, Bacon) but strawberry jam and cheese…? We agreed on the Reuben (Montreal Smoked Meat, Mustard, Sauerkraut, Swiss Cheese) and an order of the onion rings.

OMD - Rueben Dog

Reuben Dog – $7

It’s hard not to compare this to the other well-known place for hot dogs in the city, Tubby Dog, but this one is definitely better value.  A very nicely grilled hot dog topped with a good amount of toppings.  Although everything tasted good, it only tasted good as its own.  I am seeing and tasting this as two completely separate things – a Reuben and a hot dog.  The two just doesn’t incorporate well enough together for me.

OMD - Onion Rings

Onion Rings – $5

Thick cut onion rings in a beer batter.  These were nicely crispy and the onions were cooked to the right doneness.  K and I were both wondering how they got the grilling marks all the way around the onion rings!

Food was decent, prices are alright and service was really good.  The staff actually came by to check on us and see if we had any questions.  I think I’ll need to return and find another hot dog that I will like more.

About 10 minutes after we arrived to Itoko.  It was pretty much empty for a Saturday lunch which left me pondering a bit considering the high reviews.  We were seated quickly and menus were brought to us quickly.  Our server was very friendly and gave great service.  However, the food was definitely disappointing.

Ikoto - Bento Box

Lunch Bento Box – $10.95

The combo comes with 4 pcs of California Roll, rice, and salad – and then you have the choices of two hot items (out of six).  I chose Teriyaki Chicken and Tempura (1 pcs shrimp, 2 pcs yam) for my son.  This was a great deal for all of the food and actually tasted decent.

Itoko - Sashimi Deluxe

Sashimi Deluxe – $18.95

K and I both decided to go for the sashimi deluxe but was quite disappointed with the selection.  Salmon, tuna, tako, cooked shrimp and surf clam.  Quite boring to be honest, and I don’t need so many pieces of the same fish! There was nothing remarkable about the fish either – with the tuna being extremely fishy.

Itoko - Kodako

Kodako – $5.95

This is one of the appetizers that K and I decided to share.  We were expecting a plate of marinated baby octopus and instead we got it in a salad.  The octopus was slightly sweet and strong on the sesame oil.  This was actually the best dish of our meal even though it wasn’t anything spectacular either.  I do like the salad dressing though – it’s like a tangier version of thousand island dressing.

Ikoto - Baked Oyster

Baked Oyster – $3.50

This was the other appetizer we decided to share.  I’ve never had a baked oyster that was so dry.  The sauce was not creamy and was clumpy.  It wasn’t really flavorful either.

Itoko - Scallop Special Nigiri

Special Scallop Nigiri – $2.00/pc

This is one of our favorite nigiri so we always order it wherever we go, especially trying it at a new restaurant.  There was way too much mayo and the scallop didn’t have the sweetness that I normally encounter.

Even though the food was decently priced and the service was great, the taste was just not there and I don’t feel that there’s a reason for me to return.

Oh My Dog BBQ on Urbanspoon

Itoko Sushi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

