Wing Night at The Canadian Brewhouse

The Canadian Brewhouse is the third descendant of the location that once occupied Flight Deck and Stonehill Tavern.  I didn’t even think of going here until my coworker raved about their daily specials and how good the food is.  Seeing how I am a sucker for great deals and good food, I decided to go for their wing night last Wednesday.  My brother L and his girlfriend C both came along as well.  With their wings, you can choose wingettes/drummettes (1lb) or drumsticks (2.5lbs) for the same price, $4.80.  They are normally $11.50 or so if my memory serves me correctly.  The other selling point is they serve 32 flavors (sauce + dry rub) so you will definitely find a flavor you’ll like.

Here’s what we ordered tonight:

CB - Potato Skins

Potato Skins – $11.50

This was C’s order.  I didn’t try them but she said they were really tasty.  Loaded with cheese, bacon bits and green onions along with sour cream for dipping, they look so savoury!

CB - Rita McBurger

Rita McBurger – $22

So I told my brother about the Rita challenge – for $30, you can challenge to finish a burger loaded with six, thick juicy patties plus a portion of large poutine (enough for four people or more) within an hour.  If you can do that, then the meal is on the house.  I’ve asked the server if anyone actually finished and she said so far only person at this location… and he’s a body builder.  Anyways, I didn’t think my brother was ready to go for it, so he went with the smaller version instead with just three patties and your choice of side.  He decided to not take the bun and this was still a lot of food for him.  I stole a few bites of the burger patties and they were juicy, moist and seasoned very well.  I would love to order one of their regular burgers next time.

CB - Chipotle Mango Drumsticks

Chipotle Mango Drumsticks

My favorite dry rub flavor so far.  I ordered these at regular price last time and just loved the flavoring of them! I asked the server if it was a secret blend of spices… she shrugged her shoulders and said whatever happens… happens in the kitchen! Lol.  These are a little bit sweet from the mango flavoring with just a hint of chipotle.  I love them.  I’ve been trying to find a recipe for this dry rub and haven’t succeeded yet.  I also chose drumsticks as opposed to wingettes and drumettes because it’s meatier.

CB - Blackened Drumsticks

Blackened Drumsticks

This was also my brother’s order.  I didn’t try them but he said they were really good as well.

CB - Maple Cinnamon Wings

Maple Cinnamon Wings

As I love maple syrup, I had to try this flavor.  Unfortunately I didn’t like it too much as the maple syrup was too light in taste.  I could taste a lot of cinnamon plus a sugary glaze.  The size of the wings are decent and lightly fried.

CB - Honey Garlic Wings

Honey Garlic Wings

This was also C’s order.  The honey garlic sauce looked gooey sweet!

CB - Starter Tossed Salad

Starter Tossed Salad – $3

Simple green salad with the dressing of your choice.  Gotta get some greens in after all those protein! C and I both got an order each.

I’ve also tried their $11 prime rib on Fridays and it’s another steal of a deal! It is at least a pound and served with mashed potatoes and vegetables, but our server told us I can pick any side I want.  For the prime rib, the meat itself is tender although it could use a bit more seasoning but cooked to your preference.

For a pub, the food is actually really good and the pricing is more than fair especially for their specials! Service is really great and there’s more than enough staff around who does check on you.  This will definitely be a regular hangout for me (even though I don’t drink!).

Here’s a list of all their daily specials: http://www.thecanadianbrewhouse.com/specials.htm

The Canadian Brewhouse on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

