Dinner at NOtaBLE

Hubby’s Birthday was way back in June. With our very hectic work schedules and with him being constantly out of town, we put off his Birthday dinner infinitely until… I suddenly remembered about it just last week.  It’s not that I’m a bad wife, I swear! Hubby’s schedule kept changing so I didn’t bother with reservations ahead of time until I know for sure he was going to be in town.  Anyways, a few of my friends and coworkers have recommended NOtaBLE so I was really looking forward to our meal here.  Also hubby was reading some magazine and apparently the restaurant is voted as one of the best of 2012… something along that line!

Here’s what we ordered tonight:

NotaBLE - Taster Nicoise Salad

Grilled Albacore tuna “Niçoise salad” – confit potato, green beans, artisan tomato, fried egg – $14

This was my starter.  What better way than a salad to get more greens in your system? I quite enjoyed the mixture of green beans, olives, cherry tomatoes, and mixed greens tossed in a vinegary dressing.  There were three good pieces of [previously] grilled tuna chunks.  Maybe this is just the sushi crazed person in me speaking, but I would’ve preferred the tuna to be just lightly seared, and maybe just seared upon serving.  There were two halves of a confit fingerling potato underneath – I have no idea what confit potato is supposed to be like but it didn’t stand out in this dish – I think I was just expecting the texture to be really different because of the “confit” part.

NotaBLE - Mussels and Frites

Saltspring Island mussels & “frites”, Thai coconut broth – $16

Hubby was trying to decide among a bunch of starters and alas settled for this.

NotaBLE - Mussels

Mussels

There were 25+ plump, juicy mussels basking in a mildly spicy, yet flavorful broth.  The coconut was not dominant in this broth, but there was enough to create a creamy broth.  I love the small hints of spiciness – enough to give you a kick, yet not enough to burn your tongue or anything.  Hubby and I were scooping spoonful after spoonful into our mouths and couldn’t get enough.  I actually wish this was served with baguette instead – you can request for it but it’s an additional $3 or so.  While the fries were great on their own I think baguette would be better to soak up the broth.

NotaBLE - Frites

Frites

The fries seemed like they were twice cooked – perfectly crispy and we had to stop ourselves from polishing off the entire bowl! They were seasoned very well with sea salt and parsley.

NotaBLE - Angus Rib Eye

Certified Angus rib-eye (30+ day aged ~ 12oz) – $36

Hubby loves his steak, so this was a natural order for him.  The steak itself was very tender and cooked to his liking, and was accompanied by a medley of broccolini, carrots and fingerling potatoes which were cooked and seasoned perfectly.  I especially love the carrots as it tasted like it was candied.

NotaBLE - Grlled Halibut

NOtaBLE daily “catch” – Panang curry, crushed edamame, chili garlic bok choy – $36

The catch for that night was Halibut flown in from Vancouver.  The Halibut was cooked perfectly – to the right doneness so it flaked really nicely.  The curry sauce was a perfect accompaniment as it was mildly sweet, and along with the sweet red beets provided a nice contrast to the well-seasoned fish.  The only thing I didn’t really enjoy was the crushed edamame – it felt so heavy eating it.  I would’ve preferred something light to go with the heavy meat.  I think a puree would’ve complemented the entire dish better.

NotaBLE - Dark Chocolate Pudding with Salted Caramel Ice Cream

Warm dark chocolate pudding, salted caramel ice cream – $11

Hubby and I were really stuffed.  However, I haven’t had dessert for four weeks and really wanted to share something with him, so I took the server’s recommendation and went with this.  I didn’t realize pudding was pudding cake, but omg… was this ever good! Semi sweet warm chocolate pudding cake topped with one of the best flavors of ice cream ever created.  As previously mentioned, I LOVE warm desserts served with ice cream.  There’s just something about the blend of gooeyness that is so satisfying! I would come back just for this!

Service was very attentive and friendly.  Our server checked on us as needed and our glasses were never empty.  I thought prices were very reasonable and serving portions were larger than I expected.  I can’t wait to come back and try their other items!

NOtaBLE on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

