Lunch at Maruju Sushi

A couple of Sundays ago, hubby, my brother and I decided to go to Wa’s for lunch.  Not realizing that they now close on Sundays AND Mondays we drove up to a closed restaurant.  Hmmmmm.  We still want sushi, but where should we go? I was thinking Shibuya but they were closed… and then Maruju came to mind.  I remember going there years ago (+/- 10, seriously) and thought it was ok but not memorable.  Well, why not give them a try again?

Here’s what we ordered today:

Maruju - Miso Soup

Miso Soup
Served with lunch bento boxes

Standard tasting miso soup.

Maruju - Salad

Salad
Served with lunch bento boxes

Chopped romaine lettuce and purple cabbage, topped with thousand island dressing.

Maruju - Spicy Tuna Salad

Spicy Tuna Salad – $7.95

This was one of their specials and it looked so good on the picture, I decided that we had to try it since it was so reasonably priced.  Cubed tuna, avocado and cucumber tossed in a sweet and mildly spicy dressing sitting on a pile of lettuce – garnished with black and white sesame seeds.  This is actually a really tasty salad as the marinade had a good balance between sweet and spicy.  The tuna was soft and creamy – portion-wise it was smaller than pictured but for the price it’s hard to complain.

Maruju - Lunch Combo C

Lunch C – Sushi and Sashimi – $10.95

This was my order.  Maruju has a good selection of lunch combos at very reasonable prices.  I wasn’t interested in cooked food today so I thought the sushi and sashimi combo was a good way to go.  For nigiri, we have smoked salmon, tai (red snapper), (tai) surf clam, (ebi) cooked shrimp, crab salad and masago.  For sashimi, we have scallop, salmon, tako (octopus) and tuna.  The nigiri was decently made – I appreciate the fact that they give you a mixed selection rather than having the same items for nigiri and sashimi.  Everything was fresh and decently sized.  The rice was actually lightly seasoned with a hint of vinegar.  I enjoyed the sashimi a lot more though – the salmon and tuna was very creamy and the scallop was sweet.  The tako unfortunately was very chewy and not defrosted properly – a burst of water seeped into my mouth as I chewed on it.

Maruju - Bento Box D (Chicken)

Lunch Combo D – $10.95

My brother’s choice.  It has assorted tempura, deep friend gyoza and teriyaki chicken.  He said everything was good but the tempura sauce was bland.  I tried it and I have to agree.  The chicken is in little strips as opposed to chunks and sauce was a tad too sweet for me.

Maruju - Bento Box D (Beef)

Lunch Combo D - $10.95

This was hubby’s choice, same thing as my brother’s but with beef instead of chicken.

Maruju - Chicken Karaage

Chicken Karaage – $6.25

My brother loves chicken karaage and even though the version here is made with wings, he decided he had to try it as well.  These were actually really good.  The wings were very lightly battered and seasoned very well – these are some of the best deep fried wings I’ve ever tasted.  They were served piping hot and cooked all the way through with the meat still being very tender and juicy.  The togarashi mayo wasn’t even needed!

Maruju - Nigiri B

Nigiri: toro – $3.15; sockeye salmon – $2.95

Hubby and I ordered additional pieces of nigiri to try.  The toro was very smooth and creamy but the sockeye salmon was virtually tasteless.  It was also very red… We had actually ordered uni and oil fish as well but they were both out that day.

Maruju - Nigiri

Nigiri: creamy scallop – $2.65

These were surprisingly tasty with a good amount of sweet scallop in a creamy mayo dressing, definitely one of the better versions I’ve tried!

Maruju - Angel Roll

Angel Roll – $12.75

Hubby wanted to try one of their specialty rolls and picked this.  This is like a fancy version of dynamite roll topped with unagi and salmon, drizzled with sweet sauce and mayo.  It’s nothing special per se, but well made with a generous amount of ingredients.

Maruju - Spicy Salmon and California Roll

Spicy salmon roll – $4.50;  California roll – $4.15

I didn’t try the spicy salmon roll but was surprised to see it as a inside roll.  The California roll was for my toddler to snack on as he already had lunch.  I wasn’t happy with how it was just a stick of fake crab as opposed to a crab mixture with mayo, as a result the roll was really dry and my toddler didn’t really enjoy it.

I thought the food we had today was pretty good and I’m glad I returned, albeit 10 or so years later.  Service was excellent as well and the staff are very friendly.  With authenticity aside, I consider Maruju to be a decent Japanese restaurant with great value eats.  I am happy to have another dining choice for sushi!

Maruju Sushi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

