Dinner at Pho Hoan Pasteur Fusion Noodle House

There’s been a handful of new restaurants in the NW area, and Pho Hoan Pasteur happens to be one of them.  Located in the new shopping area of Royal Oak, this restaurant hasn’t been open for very long but it has attracted a large group of customers already.  As I am always on the lookout for a good pho restaurant, I am hopeful for another decent choice.  Good thing I wasn’t disappointed, and will definitely make this restaurant a regular spot.

Here’s some of the items I’ve tried:

PHP - Bean Sprouts

Bean sprouts and garnishes for your pho.

PHP - Grilled Chicken Salad Rolls

Grilled Beef Salad Rolls – $6.55

Because regular salad rolls with shrimp are boring, right? I always prefer grilled meat in mine if it’s offered and here you have a choice between beef or chicken.  These were neatly wrapped with a filling of vermicelli, shredded lettuce, bean sprouts and grilled beef.  The meat is nicely seasoned and tender.

PHP - Pho Special

Pho Tai Nam, Gan, Sach, Bo Vien – $8.50 (L)

When I try out a new place, I always get the pho dac biet.  This is essentially their special pho.  I like how clean tasting and flavorful the broth was with little to no trace of msg.  The noodles were cooked to the right doneness and each strand separated easily on its own.  I don’t like it when the noodles all clump together.  There was an ok amount of meat in this large size, but this is not a huge bowl of food by any means.  I’m full only after eating this and the appetizer.  If I wasn’t getting the appetizer, I would think I need the XL to actually fill up.

Overall food is tasty, prices are average and service is pretty decent.  The owner recognized me only after two visits so it looks like she pays attention to her clientele!

Another visit…

PHP - Deep Fried Chicken Wings

Deep Fried Chicken Wings (7 pcs) – $5.55

Fried chicken wings that are lightly salted.  It’s great that they are not heavily battered.

PHP - Avocado Shake

Avocado Shake – $4.50

Creamy shake with strong avocado flavors.  I find some restaurants serve a rather slushy one where you can taste more ice than avocado, but that’s definitely not the case here.

PHP - Vermicelli with everything

Grilled Pork, Chicken, Prawn, Meatballs & Spring Rolls on Vermicelli – $10.55

The meats were grilled perfectly and seasoned very well, but I was quite shocked to see only one slice of meatball and one prawn in there.  However, all the toppings are tasty and I like how the vermicelli wasn’t soggy.  The fish sauce mixture was lightly vinegary with a hint of sweetness.

PHP - Vermicelli with Spring Rolls, Grilled Chicken and Pork

Grilled Pork, Chicken, & Spring Rolls on Vermicelli – $10.55

By comparison this is a better deal with more ingredients than compared to the above bowl.

I do like this restaurant and there’s still quite a few things on the menu that I have yet to try, like their rice dishes.  If you are looking for a decent Vietnamese restaurant and is in the area, this place is definitely a great choice.  The only thing I haven’t figured out is… what is the fusion part of their restaurant?

Pho Hoan Pasteur Fusion Noodle House on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

