Dinner at Kabuto

As you know, I love sushi.  Especially prepared and served in the authentic and traditional way.  After learning that Kabuto serves their sushi Edomae style, I decided I wanted to give the experience a try.  What exactly is Edomae style? Well, back in the old days sushi would be caught and served in the same day to assure ultimate freshness.  Unless you live next to a bay, that procedure is pretty much impossible if you’re in a land-lock city.  However, Kabuto imports fresh fishes from all around the world on a daily basis and the chefs only serve you the very best quality.  Also, the nigiri is served one piece at a time so you can carefully savor each piece without having a plate of everything in front of you wondering which piece to tackle first.  Of course I made reservations weeks ahead of time – this tiny restaurant doesn’t seat very many and I did see some walk-ins get turned away.

On the menu you will find three omakase courses.  Basically you have to start with one of them and only after when you’re done, then can you order more pieces of nigiri (at additional cost).  There’s no teriyaki, udon, fancy rolls, nothing.  Note that the selection does change time to time depending on what ingredients they can get on hand.  Hubby and I went with the yoroi set priced at $80.

Kabuto - Chefs working

Chefs working.  The young guy scooping ikura was an apprentice and the other one is a senior chef who was responsible for serving us.  I’ve never witnessed such sternness and properness in the kitchen before.  The level of respect and discipline was just… it just amazes me.  It’s like, the apprentice wouldn’t dare to breathe without the permission of the chef! I imagine this is what I would see at a traditional place in Japan as well.  Hubby said something like, if only my guys would be like this at work.  Yeah, good luck with that hun.

Kabuto - Housemade Pineapple Sake

Aperitif Sake
housemade pineapple sake

As I really don’t drink, I gave mine to hubby.  He said the sake wasn’t very strong but enjoyed the sweetness of the pineapple taste.

Kabuto - Bonito

Amuse
kabuto bonito

Marinated bonito topped with freshly grated wasabi.  This was so delicate and you can really taste the freshness of the fish!

Kabuto - Sashimi

Sashimi
bluefin tuna (Spain), ocean trout, oyster (Seattle), jack mackerel (Japan)

Sigh.  I fail so hard that I only remember to take notes and not pictures of my food.  I was so upset I wanted to stop one of the servers carrying the same course to let me sneak a picture but I didn’t want to cause a scene.  Anyhow, from this far distance picture you can sort of see the plating.  Everything was just fresh, fresh, fresh.

Grill
kobe beef with Tokyo scallion, seared toro with marinated daikon, baby amberjack in miso

Another big sigh.  The horror of discovering that you didn’t take pictures of two plates in a row (only finding out after nearing consuming the second plate)… the most memorable item out of the three was the seared toro.  Toro is delicious enough as it is, but when it’s very lightly grilled and the oil of the fish surfaces… the result is just pure creaminess and fatty goodness.

Here’s the nigiri we got, and we added some extra pieces at the end.  I’m not going to elaborate on these b/c quite frankly, I ate these back in early November and I just don’t remember anything about them except for the ultra freshness! There’s no way I can find fish this fresh or even the variety in Calgary.  They were all good though, I can promise you that :)

Kabuto 1

Nigiri
cornet, couldn’t remember, bluefin tuna, chutoro

Kabuto 2

Nigiri
ikura, chopped otoro, gyoku, anago

Kabuto 3

Nigiri
otoro, uni, tamago, negi-toro temaki

The uni was not part of the omakase, and I have to say it was seriously one of the best uni I have ever tasted.  Sweet, creamy, ultra-fresh, delicate – just simply perfect.

Kabuto - Special Fish Miso

Special Fish Miso Soup

This was served at the end of our nigiri course.  I liked the sweetness of the soup from the fish.

Kabuto D

Dessert
mango sorbet and green tea tiramisu

Hubby got the sorbet while I got the tiramisu.  The sorbet was refreshing and a nice way to end this meal while the tiramisu was sweet and creamy with great green tea flavors.

Although this was not a cheap meal, I thought it was worth the price tag to enjoy such a wonderful experience.  Service, as you can imagine, was top notch.  From a hot cloth to wipe your hands as you sit down to walking you to the door and bowing until you’re actually out of the restaurant… just makes you feel like VIP.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve had such a perfect sushi meal! I can’t say for sure if I’ll return the next time I’m in Vegas because I have so many more places I want to try, but I definitely recommend Kabuto if you are looking for a traditional sushi experience.

Kabuto on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

