Dinner at Khao San

I’m having such a hard time thinking about anything else other than sushi. I am craving for it so badly that I actually dreamed about it last night.  I guess my body is signaling that it needs some raw fish? No can do anyway, but let’s do a post on Thai food even though it’s not something I want to eat right now.  So, I had to take my friend R out for dinner for her Birthday and knowing that she likes Thai food, I suggested Khao San since I have been wanting to try the place out.  R has also been there before and likes it, so it’s definitely a safe choice.  Originally K was going to join us but she became really sick so hubby came along instead.

Here’s what we tried tonight:

KS - Poung Chom-Poo

Poung Chom-Poo (4 pcs) – $8
Steamed Stuffed Dumpling, Minced Ground Chicken, Roasted Crushed Peanuts, Thai Spices

I’ve been wanting to try these pretty dumplings for the longest time.  With no expectation of what they might taste like, they were pretty much a savoury meat-filled dumpling.  While they taste good, I thought it was a tad pricey for the portion size.

KS - Thai Style Beef Jerky

Thai Style Beef Jerky – $10
Grilled Marinated Beef, Thai spices, Sriracha Chili Sauce

Hubby’s pick.  Even though they’re not dehydrated to an actual jerky-like state, they were dry, yet tasty from the blend of sweet spices.  It does have the texture of jerky – rough, semi-tough but flavorful.

KS - Chicken Cashew Nuts

Chicken Cashew Nuts – $16
Chicken, Chili Sauce, Bell Peppers, Water Chestnuts, Onions, Dried Chili, Roasted Cashew Nuts

R’s safe and most favorite pick.  A blend of chicken chunks and vegetables in a sweet, sticky sauce.

KS - Braised Short Ribs in Massaman Curry

Braised Short Ribs in Massaman Curry – $21
Beef Short Ribs, Massman Curry, Coconut Milk, Baby Potatoes, Onions, Roasted Peanuts

I decided to go for one of their signature dishes.  The curry was thin, not spicy and heavy on coconut flavors.  I really liked the sauce on my coconut rice.  The short ribs could’ve been braised for longer – the meat was not fall off the bone tender and it was easy to get some stuck in between our teeth.

KS - Sam Rod Basa

Sam Rod Basa – $18
Deep-fried Basa Fillet, Khao San’s Special Three Flavors Sauce, Tamarind, Chili, Thai Basil Leaves

Hubby was having trouble deciding but wanted seafood, so I suggested this deep fried fish… which I ended up loving! Lightly battered and fried basa drizzed with a sweet chili sauce… this was so good to eat! The fish was flaky, buttery and light.  I especially love the deep fried Thai Basil leaves.

KS - Pad Thai Koong Sod

Pad Thai Koong Sod – $14
Prawns, Rice Noodles, Tamarind Sauce, Bean Sprouts, Egg, Tofu, Roasted Crushed Peanuts

Noodles for my noodle-loving toddler.  Unfortunately this dish was not what I was picturing.  The noodles were overcooked as they were too soft.  I didn’t really taste any tamarind in this dish either – more like soy or oyster sauce instead.  My toddler didn’t mind eating it but for myself, I’ve had better pad Thai for sure.

I don’t have enough knowledge with Thai cuisine to tell you whether the food here is authentic or not.   Service was really good.  Staff was friendly and although I know they were anxious for us to leave since there were people waiting at the door, you can’t rush a parent feeding their kid! They didn’t actually rush us but asked if we wanted the pad Thai packed up… which it was already over halfway done.  Prices are definitely on the high side and I noticed a price increase already on some of the above items on their current menu.  It was definitely some hits and misses with what we tried tonight, but I would definitely love to come back and try more of their items.  Reservations are highly recommended since it is a busy place!

Khao San Thai Kitchen on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dinner at Khao San

Leave a Reply

