Food Product Review: Iögo Yogurt; President’s Choice Wild Clams in Garlic Butter Sauce

I was watching a ton of Iögo commercials before their actual debut at the grocery stores and was slightly intrigued by their low calorie, no aspartame claim in their products.  However, I have a preference towards Greek yogurt and that’s all I usually buy until my brother decided to try Iögo.  He swears by it, saying it’s the creamiest yogurt you will ever get for 35 calories.  He also said the orange flavor is the best, so I decided to snatch one from his pack…

I don’t know what it is about these low calorie/low fat yogurts, but they taste so chemical-y to me.  Artificial sweetener of any kind just tastes awful – Iogo uses sucralose in place of aspartame.  I don’t know why they are so proud to state that – how is sucralose (splenda) in any way better? I understand some people cannot have sugar but artificial sweeteners can also be very dangerous for your health! I also did not find the yogurt creamy at all.  My brother was surprised that I didn’t like this at all, but hey, he doesn’t like Greek yogurt either!

Anyways, the other day I was shopping at Superstore and saw this:

For $3.99, I thought it was a pretty good price and since hubby loves seafood, I bought two boxes and made them this weekend.  You can heat this in the microwave or in a pot, but of course I chose the pot method:

This is two packages worth.  Looks promising, oui?

I also made spaghetti and tossed it with olive oil, black pepper, parsley flakes and chili flakes.

As a vegetable side I made a cherry tomato salad.  Tossed with olive oil, red wine vinegar, black pepper, oregano and a dash of Worcestershire sauce.

Final composite.  It was a nice and light lunch!

Onto the review.  The garlic butter sauce was pretty decent, but there could be a bit more sauce.  I was hoping to use some of the sauce for the spaghetti but nope…  Also, these clams had some of the tiniest meat I have EVER seen.  The clams that I buy in the seafood department had way more meat, though maybe those are not sustainably sourced.  Next time I will just buy live clams and make it myself.  For $3.99 though, it’s not bad for a quick meal for one person.  There’s also one in Thai flavor but since I’m not a fan of spicy I wouldn’t buy that one.

Barilla is the brand of pasta I prefer.  I don’t know what it is about them but they seriously taste the best to me! I discovered them one day when I was looking for a pasta to use to make my carbonara and I’ve never looked back.  I remember one time I was watching How It’s Made and they were featuring some famous pasta plant in Italy.  I said to myself, that has got to be Barilla… and it was! Lol.  Always cook to al dente for best taste and texture!

The cherry tomato salad is light and slightly vinegary.  It was not the first time I’ve made it and I really like the few simple ingredients that I toss with.

I also had to finish up my sea urchin from T&T, so I put a few of them on my pasta.  It looks pretty! Taste wise, I don’t think uni goes well with sauceless pasta.  It’s ok – I will make my uni risotto very soon!

4 thoughts on “Food Product Review: Iögo Yogurt; President’s Choice Wild Clams in Garlic Butter Sauce

  1. I purchased and used this product yesterday. I will be purchasing it again. It actually reminds me very much of the ‘spaghetti clams’ served in Venice, except that the Italians would not be using butter in the sauce. They use olive oil, white wine, fresh garlic, cayenne, and fresh parsley. The trick is to cook the spaghetti until it is barely “al dente”, drain it and add it into the pan with the clams and juices (about 2 minutes after putting them in the pan). Mix everything around together for about 60 seconds to coat the spaghetti with the juices and seasonings. The size of these tiny clams replicates exactly what was served to me repeatedly in Italy. The larger clams sold year round in my area (Toronto) and referred to in stores as “pasta clams” would never show up in Venetian pasta and lack the sweetness of the smaller clams.

    • Thanks for the interesting bit about the spaghetti clams in Venice. I guess I’m used to meatier clams so I thought these PC ones were just a bit too small. I do agree that the clam meat did had a hint of sweetness to it and I wouldn’t mind buying them again… as long as PC keeps the price low. I will definitely give your recipe a try – sounds delicious!

  2. Hi Peaches. I’ve made these a few times now for a quick lunch. As soon as I put spaghetti into the boiling water I put about 1 Tbsp of olive oil into a small non stick pan along with 1 tsp of crushed or minced garlic and let the garlic get a little bit golden. Then I add 1/2 cup of whatever white wine I’ve got in the fridge, and dump in the clams. Sprinkle a few shakes of cayenne into the pan (a few shakes won’t make the dish spicy but gives it flavour). As soon as the clams have opened I drain the spaghetti well and stir it into the pan. If you have fresh chopped parsley around, this is the time to add it. Let everything hang out together in the pan for about 30 seconds and then heap into a bowl. Can’t think of anything in the store I’d rather eat for under $5, and takes 5 minutes to prepare if that.

    • Hi Lynn, are you still using the PC clams or raw ones? Just wondering b/c all the clams in the PC box that I bought were already cooked and opened… your recipe sounds really quick and simple and I would definitely give it a try!

Leave a Reply

