Christmas 2012

Christmas has come and gone, and we are moving to the end of 2012.  This year has gone by so fast for me and I have to say it’s been a great year! Last year I was too busy and tired taking care of my newborn that I skipped Christmas dinner altogether, but not this year – and as tiring as it was spending the entire day cooking, it was enjoyable to see a whole table full of food.  Here are some pictures of what I made and served.

Seared Scallops

I actually made these on Christmas Eve just for fun and they turned out extremely well.  Lightly seasoned with salt and ground pepper then pan fried with butter and olive oil for a minute and a half on each side.  Hmmmmm.

Caramelized Onions and Pan Fried Bella Mushrooms

For my mushroom wellington.  Some of my guests for my Christmas dinner are vegetarians.

Mini Beef Wellingtons

Bought from Costco – frozen.  $9.97 for 20 pieces – not a bad hors d’oeuvre at all! The pastry was flaky and the beef inside was seasoned very nicely.

Giant Shrimp Ring

Also bought from Costco.  These were some giant shrimps.  $29.99 for a tray of about 40; comes with cocktail sauce.

Spinach Salad

My brother and I came up with this – we added cranberry goat cheese, sliced organic gala apples, praline almonds to organic baby spinach and then toss with raspberry vinaigrette.  This was a sweet and refreshing salad.

Free Run Turkey from Bowden Farms

This bird was almost 18lbs! I just basted it with salted butter and stuffed it with some quartered onions… the meat was juicy and tender when I first carved it.  The skin was so good and it tasted like peking duck! Lol.

Mac and Cheese – recipe adapted from Alton Brown

With a few minor tweaks.  I omitted the onion in his recipe and used rotini instead of elbow macaroni.  This was a very good and creamy homemade mac and cheese.

Separated Dark and White Meat

I’m not the best carver and didn’t realize I was just pulling all the turkey meat out… instead of slicing the meat… until near the end.  I am so used to buying the rotisserie chicken from Costco and just end up pulling the meat out for other uses that I didn’t notice I was doing the same thing to the turkey.  Whoops.  Oh well, no one complained.

Mushroom Wellington

I made these from scratch with the exception of the butter puff pastry.  These turned out surprisingly well that I will make them again!

Some dessert tray from Costco.

55 pcs for $12.99; now on clearance for $9.97! Mini eclair, strawberry napoleon, brownie and hazelnut cream puff.  These were all very good and not too sweet.

After Christmas…

I am not a fan of leftover turkey the very next day… just because I spent the whole day slaving in the kitchen I honestly didn’t need to be reminded of it, lol.  So I made Chinese food the next night:

Scrambled Eggs with BBQ Pork

Shrimp Stir Fry with Baby Corn and Sugar Snap Peas

Nice and simple dinner.  Beats eating out all the time!

2 thoughts on “Christmas 2012

    • I will as soon as I find out which one I used. I’m very bad with remembering recipes b/c I tend to just print them out and sometimes it doesn’t print the URL.

Leave a Reply

