Japanese Braised Pork Belly (Buta no Kakuni)

I love, love, LOVE pork belly.  Yes, it’s fattening – b/c it is all fat.  I might eat it once a month at the most, and for some reason I was craving for braised pork belly last weekend.  It is ultimate comfort food on a cold day and I always prefer it braised.  I also like mine a bit sweet, so I decided to do it Japanese style.  Here’s how I made it:

Recipe: http://appetiteforchina.com/recipes/japanese-braised-pork-belly-buta-no-kakuni/

I also added:

  • Splashes of Mirin
  • A lot of sliced ginger as opposed to minced
  • A dash of sesame oil
  • Skipped the eggs

Started the cooking temperature at low for the first 1.5 hours – then brought it up to medium-high for the last 0.5 hours to thicken up the sauce.

THE glorious shot! Hubby was like… I love the sauce but can’t stand the fat.  Can’t you use lean pork? Nah… what fun would that be?

This was actually the first time I’ve made it and I’m so happy that it turned out so well.  Now that I’ve unleashed the secret to making the pork belly that I like… I need to refrain myself from making this more than once a quarter year! Lol.

Not for the faint of heart.  One piece goes long ways with a nice bowl of rice.  That’s all I had that night – three pieces.  Plus an hour workout at the gym beforehand!

One thought on “Japanese Braised Pork Belly (Buta no Kakuni)

Leave a Reply

