Day 4 – Eating in Vancouver & Vicinity

Previous Food Posts on my Vancouver Trip

Day 1 Day 2 Day 3

Day 4

Dim Sum at Red Star Seafood Restaurant

Red Star is the other restaurant on my wishlist for dim sum. I knew I wanted to try their duck lai fun as well as other neat dim sum dishes. No posted prices this time as I forgot to retain the receipt after we paid. For some reason I thought they were under the same group as the one in Asia but it looks like I’m wrong.

Chinese Salted Egg Custard Buns

Not a special item per se, but I haven’t had one for a while and really wanted to try the version here.  Be very careful when eating these – the filling is very hot and you can easily burn your face/lips/hand when the stuff quirts out.  Warm, sweet, gooey, sticky salted egg mixture oozing out of a warm, steamed bun.  If you like the traditional steamed egg custard bun then you will like this even more!

Mushroom and Truffle Dumpling

This was a disappointment – I did not taste any hint of truffle in this. Not even close to the one I had at The Jade Seafoood Restaurant, though I guess that one is award winning.  The mushroom mixture here was quite bland.  At least the dumpling skin was not too thick.

Shrimp Dumpling

I saw someone ordered this and it looked good, so I thought we’d give it a try.  This was actually quite good – the shrimp was crunchy and the dumpling skin again was nice and thin.

Roasted Duck on Lai Fun

I think we decided to order this b/c it seemed like it was such a good deal.  $5.99 if I remember correctly? The roasted duck was quite tasty, had a nice, crispy skin but the meat was a tad tough.  The noodles were also a tad overcooked.

Supreme Dumpling

We decided to try the version here and instead of one giant dumpling, it’s four small wonton/shui gao like dumplings.  The dumplings are packed with pork and wood ear, and then there’s that piece of shark fin in the soup.  I don’t think I liked this too much b/c I can’t seem to remember anything about the taste.  The soup must’ve only been ok or I would be raving about it now.

Double Boiled Milk Custard

Looks like I forgot to take a picture of this one! Silky smooth custard with very strong milk flavors.  The one here is quite nice – comparable to the one at Kirin minus the strong ginger juice.

Service was ok.  None of the servers smiled but the service was adequate, and they do respond to requests right away.  Prices are a bit high but you get the 20% discount before 11:00am.  I think there are definitely better places for dim sum so I would skip this place the next time I’m in Vancouver.

Red Star Seafood 鴻星海鮮酒家 on Urbanspoon

Lunch at Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

I’ve been to the one in Hong Kong before and loved it. Over there they actually have sushi as the side dishes! Well, I always like a good soup base for my ramen so I knew I had to visit the one in Vancouver.  My most memorable flavor of soup base is wasabi tonkotsu from Ippudo HK.  I’ve never seen another place serving it.  Oh boy, if Ippudo ever opens up in Vancouver I’d be visiting even more often!!

Ikura Gohan – $5.95

I wanted something raw so I got this.  It taste exactly as it looks but the salmon roe was very fresh.  However, b/c the rice was a bit too warm the roe warmed up really quickly as well.  Not trying to defy the law of physics but it would be nice if the roe could be kept cool somehow while the rice remains warm.

Toroniku Shio – $14.50

I didn’t try this the last time I was in HK.  Even though it’s a tad pricey, I decided to just splurge.  I’m so glad I did.  I’ve never had pork that actually melted in my mouth.  It would be best to dip the pork into the soup to warm it up but b/c it is so soft, it just fell apart in the soup! I chose shio as my soup base b/c I wanted something creamy, and this was definitely that.  Very rich pork bone flavors in a lightly salted broth.  I love it.  The noodles were cooked perfectly to al dente and had a good bite to them.

Chashu Shoyu Ramen – $11.80

My mom wasn’t sure what to try so we picked this safe choice for her.  I tried a piece of the chashu which seems to have been roasted and it was very flavorful.  I love that nice fatty layer on the meat, even though the meat itself was quite tender.  Hmmmmm.  I didn’t try the soup but my mom said it was good.

Goro-Niku Gyoza – $5.50

We saw a lot of tables ordering this and apparently they’re famous or something…? so we thought we should try them out too.  These were one of the better goyzas we have tried.  The wrapping is nice and thin and held a good amount of juicy, tender pork and vegetable fillings.  I like how the bottom was charred to a good crisp but not burnt.  You can also make your own dipping sauce with a tray of sauces that the servers bring to you.

Service was decent.  It was a very busy place with a constant flow of customers.  Prices are on the high side but the food is really good, so to me it’s worth paying a little more.  Of course since I don’t live near this restaurant it may be a while before I visit again!

Hokkaido Ramen Santouka 山頭火 on Urbanspoon

Dinner at Sushi Hachi

This is my most favorite place in Richmond to get authentic sushi. I was here last year and had such a great experience that I just had to come back again! As everyone know, the only two working people in this tiny restaurant are a husband and wife team. The husband is the sushi chef who makes the sushi and the wife does everything else. As busy as they are, service is never compromised and the wife is super efficient and friendly. I don’t know how they do it but they are doing it!

Wild Salmon Sashimi (7 pcs) – $9.50

My mom’s must have. Delicately sliced wild salmon sashimi that is sweet tasting with a firm texture.

California Roll – $3.00

For my toddler, of course. I swear I have never ordered this many California Rolls before until he started learning how to eat sushi. I wonder when it’s safe for a toddler to eat raw fish? Something I haven’t dared to ask my family doctor, of course. These are pretty standard with a decent amount of filling.

Tamago Nigiri – $1.00/pc

Also for my toddler.  The tamago is nicely sweet and has a fluffy texture.  I only recently learned that this is considered dessert sushi.  Really?

Chef’s Choice 10 pcs nigiri + 1 roll – $25.00

This is the best combo to order for the best value.  The size of the nigiri is on the small side but you can easily pop the entire piece into your mouth.  Because my picture was taken from an angle, I can’t clearly see the ones on the far left to clearly label them.  I can say there were the following pieces: saba, kanpachi, shima aji, hamachi, madai, toro, amaebi, ika, chopped scallop with a negi-toro roll.  I’m not entirely sure what the piece with the greens on top is.  From what I see the selection changes from time to time so you won’t always get the same pieces.  However, I am happy with this platter.  Each piece of nigiri is well made with a good fish to rice ratio.  The negi-toro roll is ultra creamy and also a good size to just pop the entire piece into your mouth.  All of the fish are super fresh and I love how the selection is not your standard salmon, tuna, shrimp with California roll! I could eat this over and over again.

Grilled Shima Aji Head – $15.00

The dish that my mom absolutely has to order.  The type of fish head featured changes from time to time as well.  I guess whatever sashimi feature they have, they will have that as a grilled fish head feature! This is simply grilled with salt and it is very tasty.  The meat is very smooth with a flaky texture.

Second round of nigiri

After finishing my first plate of sushi I decided to order more toro.  I heard another diner ordered otoro and thought hmmm… I should get some too!

Toro Nigiri – $2.50/pc

I really enjoyed the toro from my chef’s selection so I ordered one for my mom to try, and another two for myself. These are definitely some of the best toro I’ve had. Creamy, oily and fatty – just simply delicious.

Hotate Nigiri – $2.50/pc

Fresh, sweet tasting scallops.  Sometimes scallops can be really fishy but oh no… you won’t find that here at Hachi.  Nothing is fishy!

Otoro Nigiri – $9.50/pc

Probably the most I have ever paid for a piece of nigiri but it was totally worth it. This very fatty tuna belly was super creamy and fatty – the texture is comparable to butter. Hmmmm. The otoro was so oily and fatty that it must’ve disintegrated into my mouth the moment I bit into it. Wow. This was just amazing!

Third round of nigiri
Toro – $2.50; Chopped Scallop – $2.50

My third round of toro was a bit different – it looks like it’s a different cut and it didn’t taste the same as the previous pieces. It was still soft and oily but not as creamy.  The chopped scallop was good.  Creamy with good, firm chopped up scallops.  Always one of my favorite pieces anywhere.

Ice Cream: Green Tea, Mango – $2.50 each

These were scooped out of a container.  I didn’t expect them to be house made but they are actually quite good as store bought!

This is one of the best, authentic Japanese restaurants in Richmond.  I could seriously come here every day… too bad I don’t live in Vancouver.  Boo.  Prices are pretty decent and the quality is definitely way up there.  I really like how the menu is kept really simple and all the dishes are done so well.

Sushi Hachi 鮨八 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

