Happy Anniversary! And some thoughts…

blogging

Wow, has it really been a year since I started this blog? What started out as a small passion became quite a commitment! It’s been a lot of fun eating at and writing about restaurants where I may have never thought of going to, but in order to broaden my horizons as a foodie it was a must!

I do have to say though, I feel like this blog has been a bit of a waste of time. I love getting all the views, hits, and emails from my readers but at the end of the day, who am I showing this to? It’s definitely a bit of a downer when I see that people tweeting/instagraming are getting more attention than my full-length, descriptive reviews. Quoting my friend: it’s not like people will go back and read these tweets weeks from now, yet our reviews stick around forever. I guess it’s all about social networking nowadays, and maybe food blogging is too old-school? Makes me feel like I should just stop blogging and go tweeting full time instead!

Not to mention the other rude awakening I received in the past couple of weeks – people wasting my time. Some people seem to get a really sick satisfaction from manipulating others just so they can get that one moment of euphoria. I mean it’s fine, to each their own, but at my age I am no longer interested in high school drama. If you can’t say it like you mean it, then why bother saying it at all?

There will always be followers and haters – I know that, but how I write is my representation and interpretation of my experience. There’s no right or wrong – it’s just whether you like it or not. It’s like I was listening to Lana Del Rey last night. I can’t believe I just found out about this lovely artist a couple months ago. I think she’s absolutely beautiful, talented and I wish I had the same trembling/eerie voice like hers – it’s just so unique and soothing! And then I read comments like omg, she’s only known b/c her dad is rich, her lips are so fake, she’s here b/c of her looks, etc etc. It’s not like they’re even commenting on her music – they’re attacking everything else about her. I don’t get it, except all I can say is – haters gonna hate.

So then back to me – I may dislike your favorite restaurant or praise the restaurant you dislike, but how does that make me wrong? We are completely different individuals with different likes, preferences and expectations. Even if you and I end up dining together, at the same table, time and place, our experiences can still be very different. That’s what makes us unique. I’m not forcing you to agree with me, but if your disagreement goes straight to personal attacks, then I’m not going to bother with you. I don’t see how all of my dining experiences will be 100% positive so there will always be negative reviews here and there. As I always say – I write as it is. I know what I like and don’t like, and I write based on that. If you feel that I have written something untrue or unwarranted, tell me. Sitting there crossing your arms and pouting at my blog cannot get my attention!

Anyhow, as I will continue to eat out and food is my passion, I will continue this blog for a little longer, but let’s see where it takes me another year from now. Thank you to those who takes the time to write and comment. It makes me feel like I am being heard, even if just a little.

2 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary! And some thoughts…

Leave a Reply

