Dinner at Kushi-Ya

Kushi Ya has taken over the spot where Happy Hill Chinese Restaurant used to be, although I believe it is still the same owner (or so I heard). As the restaurant name entails, they specialize in kushiage, aka Japanese style skewers. A glance at their menu shows a huge variety of skewers so I decided to check them out. They also serve sushi, donburi and have occasional daily specials.

Here’s what we tried today:

Kushi Ya - Seaweed Salad

Seaweed Salad – $4

Lightly dressed in an oil and vinegar (or maybe even lemon juice) mixture a citrus yuzu dressing, this was refreshing but could also use more flavor.

Kushi Ya - Tri Color Don

Three Color Don – $6

Chopped scrambled egg, spinach and ground chicken. This was my brother’s order, and I imagine it tastes as it looks. It is a cheap filler though.

Kushi Ya - Una Don

Una Don – $10

This was for my toddler and he happily ate it all. There are five-six pieces of nigiri-sized eel pieces in this bowl with a good amount of sauce for the rice.

Kushi Ya - Spicy Miso Ramen

Spicy Miso Ramen – $12

This was my mom’s order and she had no complaints. She said it wasn’t spicy at all.

Kushi Ya - Chicken Thigh

Chicken Thigh Skewer – $1.80

Kushi Ya - Chicken Wings

Chicken Wing Skewer – $2

Kushi Ya - Short Rib

Short Rib – $2.80

Kushi Ya - Kushi Ya Set

Kushi Ya Set – $18

My brother also ordered this as it was a cheaper way to sample a bunch of skewers. He seemed to have enjoyed everything except the leek one.

Kushi Ya - Premium Kushi Set

Kushi Ya Premium Set – $22

Hubby and I both ordered the premium set and instead of having all 10 skewers come out on a platter like my brother’s, they all came out groups at a time. I do have to say for $4 more, the premium set is a better deal as you get better choices of meats and seafood. I actually enjoyed everything particularly the seafood ones! My only comment is the same sauce is used for ALL of the skewers… I’d like to see a bit more variety there. I know that if you order the skewers per item you can choose the sauce though.

Kushi Ya - Nigiri

Assorted Nigiri: Shima Aji, Salmon Belly, Chopped Scallop

I tried the salmon belly and chopped scallop and they were fairly fresh, but hubby said the shima aji tasted off.

Overall I think their skewers are worth trying but I’m still unsure about the sushi, although I don’t think I tried enough of it to really make a judgement. Prices are definitely reasonable and there’s many choices on their menu for just about anyone. Service was pretty good – one of the servers was from Happy Hill and recognizes my mom.

Kushi-Ya on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dinner at Kushi-Ya

  1. Thanks for your blog post of our Kushiya. We just say, our dressing contains Yuzu citrus as written on our menu, and NOT Shima-aji (Amberjack species), Aji (Horse Mackerel) on our menu, totally taste different..

Leave a Reply

