Tasty Vietnamese Eats at Song Huong

Song Huong is no longer a hidden gem as many others have already discovered it.  It is my bestie K’s favorite Vietnamese restaurant and she has been urging me to go check it out! As I’m a sucker for homestyle Vietnamese food I had to go try it.  I find the Vietnamese restaurants in the NW where I live really boring… and no special dishes.

Pictures are from a few different visits.

Song Huong - Raw Beef Salad

Raw Beef Salad

Unlike many others who have praise about this dish including K, I only found this ok.  Correct me if I’m wrong, but I thought you can only eat beef raw if it’s served fresh? What we have here is a plate of sliced beef that had been freezed, and because they were still semi-frozen when I ate it, there was no meat taste and I’m pretty much getting only the tasty blend of condiments (cilantro, peanuts, fried onions, fried garlic, raw onions, chili peppers and fish sauce).  However, since I’m still alive as I’m posting this, I guess the dish was ok to eat.  I’m rather disappointed that the beef was not defrosted properly.  I think I would prefer the beef to be lightly seared on the outside, still sliced thin and served a bit warmer than semi-frozen.

Song Huong - Steamed Tapioca Dumplings with Vietnamese Ham

Steamed Tapioca Dumplings with Vietnamese Ham

I love this dish! I enjoy the chewiness of the tapioca wrapping enveloping ground meats and bits inside.  Eat them with the thinly sliced Vietnamese ham and dip them in the accompanied fish sauce.

Song Huong - Spring Rolls

Spring Rolls

One of my favorite spring rolls! Wrapped in rice paper and lightly fried, these were very crispy and flavorful.  I have ordered these every single time I’ve been there because I can’t get enough of it, and I normally don’t even order chả giò when I go eat pho.

Song Huong - Pho Dac Biet

Pho Dac Biet

My standard when it comes to trying out a new restaurant.  It was pretty decent though I found the soup a bit light in flavor.  Most of their bowls only come in one size.  I find the portions a bit on the smaller size – however, the prices are also on the lower side! I think it’s so you can enjoy an appetizer plus a main and finish it without trouble.

Song Huong - Bun Bo Hue

Bun Bo Hue

The BBH here is very different than the usual place I get it at (BBH Deli).  I asked K which is more authentic, and she said it’s not really authencity per se but it’s a whole different taste.  The one here is spicier and I love the depth of flavors in the soup.  In addition to the usual ingredients, there’s even coagulated pork blood in it.  You can also request to have this not spicy.  I also found out you can buy it in a pot to go for $30 (serves 4).

Song Huong - Vermicelli with Grilled Pork, Chicken and Nem Chua

Vermicelli with Grilled Pork, Chicken and Nem Chua

Song Huong - Vermicelli with Grilled Pork and Shrimp Paste

Vermicelli with Grilled Pork and Shrimp Paste

I love the vermicelli bowls here at Song Huong.  I like how they’re not just served with bean sprouts and shredded lettuce/carrots but rather a unique blend of shredded greens that I have not seen elsewhere.  The meats are always perfectly seasoned and grilled and I just can’t get enough of it.

Service here has been really great and I’ve enjoyed the food.  Although it is a bit far from me it’s an easy drive through Stoney Trail so I don’t mind the travel.  There’s still plenty of items for me to try on the menu and I know I’ll be back many many times.  Do note that they are cash only!

Song Huong on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Tasty Vietnamese Eats at Song Huong

  1. Pingback: Where to Eat This Weekend: Calgary Round 3 | Food Bloggers of Canada

Leave a Reply

