Breakfast at Tai Hing Congee; Dinner at Dinesty

A drive down to Tulalip means we need a good breakfast! I have to say the outlets didn’t have much great shopping, and I spent more at Costco and Target.  How I wish I live close to the border… anyways, since hubby likes congee, I decided to try out Tai Hing which is known for it. They serve more than that though, but we both decided to go for a breakfast combo which had a variety of congee plus a carb dish.

Breakfast at Tai Hing Congee

TH - Rice Roll (1)

TH - Rice Roll (2)

Steamed Plain Rice Roll

I’m sure these are house made and they are made fairly well. Soft but appropriately firm so it’s not a mush. Served with soy sauce, sweet sauce and sesame sauce.

TH - Fish Congee

Fresh Fish Congee

Hubby’s choice. I didn’t try the fish but he happily devoured it.

TH - Boat Congee

Tang Jai “Boat” Congee 艇仔粥

My favorite type. The congee was smooth and pillowy soft. It contained a lot of mixed seafood and none of it was overcooked. This was delicious and really filled me up.  I like that it was seasoned – some places are afraid to put salt and bland congee is just boring!

TH - Satay Beef Instant Noodle

Satay Beef Instant Noodle

This was for my son. A full instant noodle with a ton of satay beef slices that had been tenderized.  He ate most of it after hubby and I had a taste :p

The food was delicious, cheap, and came out fast.  Their congee is definitely good and I would recommend coming here for it.  Service was friendly and very quick! A lot of people came to dine in and order takeout so they are definitely well known! Do note they are cash only.

Tai Hing Congee and Noodle House 大興粥麵之家 on Urbanspoon

Dinner at Dinesty

We came back to Richmond earlier than expected so instead of going out for late night eats, we were able to go for dinner.  The restaurant was really packed at 8pm but we still managed to get seated without a reservation.

Dinesty - Mala Beef Tendon

Braised Mala Beef Tendon

One of my must order dishes.  I just love beef tendon, I don’t know why.  This was slippery soft and tender but not mushy, aka not overcooked.  The mala flavor wasn’t too strong so it was good for me to eat.

Dinesty - XLB

Steamed Shanghai Soup Dumplings (Xiao Long Bao)

Pretty much the obligatory dish when you eat at a Shanghai restaurant.  These were smaller in size and quite dainty, but they were steaming hot and I burnt my tongue on the first one, ouch! There was a decent amount of fatty pork mixture with just enough flavorful soup inside.  The skin was thin and stretchy and did not break at all – very well made.

Dinesty - Seafood Ramen

Stir Fried Seafood Ramen

Our filler carb dish and also the easiest for our son to eat.  The thin pulled noodles were fried well where each one separated on its own, and still retained a good bite to it.  There was a good amount of mixed seafood and the sauce was not too salty.

Dinesty - 3 Cup Chicken

Three Cup Chicken

My favorite dish of the bunch.  Besides the XLB, quite a few tables ordered this as well and it was sooooooooooooo good.  The flavors were so prominent and the chicken pieces were meaty and tender.  We had to order a bowl of white rice to eat with this and I couldn’t get enough of the sauce! Yum.

I really enjoyed the food here and wished my stomach was bigger so I could try more things.  Darn my vacation stomach! Service was very typical Chinese – no smiles, zero eye contact but very efficient.  Prices are very reasonable and I would not hesitate to return for dinner – especially for the three cup chicken!

Dinesty Dumpling House 聚 (No.3 Road) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

