Corso 32

I decided to drive to Edmonton spur of the moment and of course had to make sure to check out some foodie worthy places! One such place was Corso 32, a very popular Italian place that seems to be very well received on social media.  However, making a reservation was near impossible (with only one week notice) and the only openings were after 9:00pm… who eats dinner that late? Well, not moms with babies anyway! So the night before I left I decided to try my luck again and what do you know, there was a 5:00pm opening! It was a bit early, but better than not getting to eat there at all!

So on the day of, I received a text via the Yelp SeatMe system to confirm my reservation which is kind of neat! I sent back my confirmation, headed out to the restaurant and when I got there, the hostess informed me that I had cancelled my reservation.  Good thing I still had my text and it indeed showed that I confirmed.  So my table was given away to a walk-in, but she was understanding and moved to the communal table instead.  Then sometime later she was moved to a different table that supposedly cancelled, too.  I don’t seem to be having much luck with reservations lately huh?

Getting all of that out of the way, we proceeded to have a lovely dinner with excellent service from our server.  Here’s what we tried:

Corso - Arancini 3

Corso - Arancini 2

Arancini – $9 for half order (4 pcs)
Norcia Sausage & Verde De Taglio Swiss Chard, Fontina

We didn’t want to over order and I wanted to try more than one appetizer, so I figured one piece per person should be plenty.  Now, I’ve never had arancini before so I have no idea what they should taste like beyond a deep fried risotto ball, but wow, these were delectable! Rich, gooey and flavorful; these were just the perfect bites.  And the batter was seriously paper thin and ultra crispy!

Corso - Fried Short Rib

Fried Short Rib – $16
Shaved Pear & Arugula Salad, Crostini

I’ve never had short rib that was melt-in-your-mouth tender, rich, soft, pate-like.  Like, never.  This was exactly that.  Initially I wasn’t sure why crostinis were served with it but because the short rib is really heavy you definitely need the salad and the crostini to help give it some contrast.

Corso - Tonnarelli

Tonnarelli – $21
San Marzano Tomato, Basil, Parmigiano & Sicilian D.O.P. Olive Oil

We decided to get two pasta dishes to share, and this was one of them.  All of their pastas are made by hand and wow, they are nothing like other handmade pastas I’ve had.  I will say the texture is more chewy, dense and flavor wise more eggy.  It was a bit too chewy for my baby daughter, but everyone else loved it.  And the sauce? You know how they say simple is best? This dish was simplicity at its best.  I will eat this again.  And again.  AND AGAIN!

Corso - Papparadelle

Daily Feature: Papparadelle – $24

This was the feature pasta that night and I couldn’t remember what all the components were, except it was in a rich cream sauce with cured pork.  I find that I don’t like the broader noodles as much since the pasta dough itself is chewier, this particular shape made the noodles a bit too firm in my opinion.

Corso - Panna Cotta

Vanilla Panna Cotta – $11
B.C. Raspberries & Blackberries, Oat Florentine, Honey Grappa

We purposely didn’t finish our pastas just so we can indulge in this dessert.  So my mom goes, yeah, I don’t really like dessert anyway so I’ll only have a bite or two.  She tries a spoonful and then says wow, why is this so good? And just like that half of it was gone… This has to be the best, lightest, creamiest, smoothest, tastiest panna cotta I’ve ever had.  I love panna cotta, no doubt about that, but this one here… it was so good.  It was perfect.  If you go to Corso and can only try one thing (what a silly scenario right? But seriously…) you must eat this!

This meal was definitely a highlight of our trip and I would not hesitate to return.  I may not easily get a table, but I did see that they do takeout! Prices are pretty reasonable for the quality and the portions are just right.

Corso 32 Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

