Kyoto

I will always look for a place to eat sushi on every trip.  Given that Kyoto has been on my radar for quite some time, I decided to finally make it happen this time. I was mainly drawn to the low prices and good variety of dishes, but I have to say that overall the whole meal was not that satisfying.

Here’s what we tried:

Kyoto - Sashimi Boat

Sashimi Boat – $26.00

My mom and I decided to try a variety of sashimi. We weren’t interested in any of the lunch combos and decided the small sashimi boat should be more than enough.  Here we have salmon (5), tuna (5) , octopus (2), red snapper (2), herring & roe (3), scallop (2), surf clam (1), raw prawn (1) with deep fried head (the BEST part).  Really good value, and everything was actually pretty fresh!

Kyoto - Chop Chop Temaki

Chop Chop Temaki – $4.80

This was pretty darn good – not filled with rice and there was chopped scallop all the way to the tip of the cone! The scallop was creamy and it wasn’t too heavy on the mayo either.

Kyoto - Toro Nigiri

Toro Nigiri (2 pcs) – $4.80

Nicely thick and lightly seared, this was just ok.  The toro wasn’t very fatty.

Kyoto - Small Special Salad

Kyoto - Chawanmushi

Small Kyoto Special Salad and Chawanmushi – $11.00

I needed a salad, and didn’t want the full size one as it would’ve been too much.  I liked this half and half combo since the chawanmushi would be perfect for my daughter! So, that salad.  It was really interesting, and not in a good way.  It had a small mixture of spring mix, topped with berries, broken pieces of instant ramen (they called it baked noodles on the menu, but let’s be honest…), walnuts, and tossed in a light vinaigrette.  On the side of a plate there was a smear of hot mustard/wasabi sauce… everything just seemed so random and didn’t go together.  It was one of the strangest salads I’ve ever encountered.  For the chawanmushi, I expected a silky smooth, soft tofu like texture.  This seemed overcooked – the texture was firm and dense.

Kyoto - California Roll

California Roll (full) – $12.00

Obviously I got this for my son, but I failed to read that it was made with real crab.  You’d think I would be happy with that, but the crab was really fishy… and I’m not sure why they put cooked spinach inside.  As I’ve said in the past, I like my California Rolls to be creamy.  So does my son I guess, and I had a really hard time getting him to eat this.

The food wasn’t too bad with some slight misses, but man was the service brutal.  The servers looked like they didn’t want to be there, and they looked like they didn’t want us there.  While some of the food was good, it really wasn’t that special.  I don’t think I will need to return.

Kyoto Japanese Cuisine Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

