Izakaya Tomo

Last meal in Edmonton and of course it had to be Japanese. I had told my cousin that I intended to try Japonais Bistro, but he suggested Izayaka Tomo instead and raved about their food.  I do like izakayas but haven’t been to too many where I would say is really good, so I was excited for it.  Online reviews seem to be pretty positive too!

Here’s what we tried:

Tomo - Kinpira

Kinpira – $3.95

I’ve had this somewhere else before and actually wanted to try it again, so here we are.  The kinpira here is burdock root and carrots in a sesame soy sauce.  I like that it’s lightly sweet with a very subtle hint of spice.  The texture is slightly chewy but if you have strong teeth then you have nothing to worry about.

Tomo - Salad

Tomo Salad – $7.95

I must always get a salad! Well, I got this because of the yuzu dressing.  It was nicely citrusy and perfectly dressed.  My daughter ate all the tofu on my behalf (not because I didn’t like them – it was because she liked them) but I don’t believe it was house made.

Tomo - Tuna Yukke

Tuna Yukke – $6.95

On their menu it said this was a tartar, but what we got was more like a tuna paste.  I honestly could not tell you what the seasoning was.  It was decent and probably my least favorite dish of the night.

Tomo - Toro

Toro Sashimi – $12.95

Ultra-fresh, creamy, melt-in-your-mouth tuna belly.  Mmmmmmm!

Tomo - California Roll

California Roll with Masago – $6.95

This of course was for my son and he was pretty happy with the heaps of tobiko! The fake crab mixture was very creamy.

Tomo - Niku Udon

Niku Udon – $10.95

My mom always love her noodle soup and decided to try this.  She really enjoyed it and cleaned the bowl.  I tried a little bit of everything and thought it was a nice tasting bowl of udon – the broth was really light and flavorful.

Tomo - Gyoza

Gyoza – $6.95

We got this for my mom and daughter to share.  They were pretty decent gyoza but presentation definitely stood out more!

Tomo - Karaage

Chicken Karaage – $8.95

The chicken karaage here is one of the best I’ve ever tried.  It’s very lightly battered chunks of dark meat, but what’s special is you can choose how you want to season it.  I went with the negi-shio and when you first bite into it, you get a sharp taste of the salt, but after that it just becomes pleasant to eat.  Mmmmmmm.

Tomo - Dessert

Ice Cream Sandwich – $6.95

Of course we had to end with dessert.  I was sad when the server told us that they ran out of green tea ice cream for the night but they still had salted caramel, vanilla and yuzu mint.  I went with the yuzu mint and did not regret my choice.  I found the mint flavor stronger than the yuzu but nonetheless it was really good, and I like that it wasn’t very sweet.  The “sandwich” is housemade pancakes – all served with a dollop of whipped cream, red bean paste and two pieces of mochi.

We left happily with a full tummy and drove home.  Service was really good and this is a really busy restaurant, given their small size.  Be sure to make reservations or you’ll be waiting for a long time.  I would definitely come back again!

Izakaya Tomo Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

